Pittsboro Street Festival and More

When my alarm went off at 4:15 a couple of Saturdays ago, fear was telling me to act like I didn’t hear the alarm, pull it from the wall, say the power went out last night and caused my clock to reset. I made my way downstairs knowing the next step on this early morning would be to start the truck so the engine could have a chance to warm up. I paced in the garage for a few moments looking for anything I may have forgotten to pack on the truck. Deep inside I knew I wasn’t actually looking for anything, I was stalling. Fear was keeping me from pressing the button to open the garage door because I knew on the other side of the door a huge food truck was going to be there waiting on my next move. I knew that once I opened the garage door there would be no turning back. What if people don’t like the food, what if we are unable to execute our menu. Finally I pressed the button and the garage came up. I stepped the three steps and placed the key into the ignition. Fear was still gripping me to the point that I thought, “well if the engine doesn’t start, that would be a good way out of today and it wouldn’t be my fault.” With a turn of the key the loud engine turned over and signaled that today’s journey was about to begin regardless of what fear had to say about it.

Those were the first few moments of what turned out to be a great first day of business for the Boricua Soul Food Truck. With the help of Chatara and Dave on our team, Serena and I had a chance to serve over 100 customers. The reactions to the food were excellent, to have people circle back to the truck and let us know how much they enjoyed the food was an amazing feeling. To have people come back for seconds was overwhelming! A friend of mine who was getting ready to run his first marathon posted something on Facebook that caught my attention. It stated, “Nervousness, is your body’s way of telling you that you are about to do something awesome” and I can’t think of truer words. What Pittsboro did for us was tie an idea that has been in my head for some time to reality. There was no more thinking about it. There was no more wondering if we could handle an actual service, we had proven to ourselves that we could. After sending the first few orders our window that nervous energy was now manifesting itself into four people cranking out the food I had daydreamed about. We took a lot from Pittsboro and found a number of ways we can improve for our next event. We know that each service will be a chance to learn how to be more efficient and produce food we can be proud of.

Since Pittsboro, we passed our inspection with Durham County and are a fully permitted Mobile Food Unit. This gives us the ability to prepare and sell food from our truck. This has allowed us to pick up some catering business before we find our way into the rotation of trucks at breweries and business parks. On Friday, October 30th, we catered a lunch for The Beck Group. They are doing renovations to Duke Universities Athletic Facilities. It was another great venue for us to reach new people and we thank Jill Carter for the new opportunity. We also catered a going away dinner this Friday (November 6th) that gave us a chance to try something different that we think was well received, Shrimp Avocado Salad Tostones Cups. Thank you Durham Family Medicine for the opportunity serve you. It was a pleasure to bring out the truck and meet your staff! Best wishes to Missy Laurie on her new endeavors!

During all of this we have been busy wrapping up the final details of the truck like, completing the wrap design, waiting on the generator to arrive (we have been able to do events where we can plug into power and run our ventilation hood and lights off electricity).

We have been busier than expected in the last month and we expected to start sending kickstarter rewards out before the end of October. Halloween has come and gone with no rewards in the mail and we would like to thank all of our backers for your patience. We are working vigorously to secure good vendors for some of the rewards and hope to receive and start sending them out very soon. Please accept our sincerest apologies in the delay but know that we hope to have them to your doors soon!

2 thoughts on “Pittsboro Street Festival and More

  1. I would like to have your food truck come out to our office for lunch service if you are available.

    Please let me know if your available.

    Like

Leave a Reply

